South West Orienteering Association


This is an annual competition running from September to Spring based on scores from a series of colour-coded events.

Galoppen League Calendar for 2016/17:





18 September 2016


Godshill, New Forest

View the website

9 October 2016


Collingbourne Woods, Andover

View the website

30 October 2016


Craddock Moor, Liskeard

View the website

13 November 2016


Fernworthy Reservoir, Dartmoor

View the website

27 November 2016


Ramscombe, Quantocks

View the website

15 January 2017


Cannop Ponds, Forest of Dean

View the website

22 January 2017


Danby Lodge, Forest of Dean

View the website

12 February 2017


Homsley, New Forest

View the website

30 April 2017


Savemake, Marlborough

View the website

Overall results for the 2016/17 season can be found here

Prize Winners 2015/16:

Brown: top male and overall winner (again!) - Chesters (Ben) SARUM M35

Brown: top junior - Rowe (Sean) Devon M18

Blue: top male and overall winner - Fletcher (Brian) QO M40

Blue: top female - Simmons (Alison) BOK W60

Blue top junior - Snow (Tom) Devon M16

Green: top junior, top male and overall winner - Stagg (Harry) BOK M14

Green: top female - Somers (Meg) Devon W14

Short Green: top female and overall winner - Hands (Sue) WIM W65

Short Green: top male - Vigar (Bill) QO M80

Light Green: top male, top junior and overall winner - Shopland (Luke) QO M14

Light Green: top female - Ward (Rebecca) NGOC W12

Orange: top female, top junior and overall winner - Stagg (Edith) BOK W12

Yellow: top male, top junior and overall winner - Thompson (Ira) BOK M12

Yellow: top female and overall winner - Rush (Ella May) BOK W10

Yellow: top male – Bratcher-Howard (Harry) WIM M10

SWOA Galoppen Scoring System
Updated as of 20 March 2014

1. Points are awarded only on the Brown, Blue, Green, Short Green, Light Green,
Orange and Yellow courses at Galoppen events.

2. Only members of SWOA on the day of the event score points. Runs must be
alone and unassisted for the competitor to score. Only a competitor's first run

3. On each course the fastest SWOA competitor earns 1000 points. Other
competitors are awarded points using this calculation: Points = 1000 x fastest
time/competitor's time. Points are not transferable between courses.

4. The results of competitors who have not completed three or more events on
the same colour course will not count in the calculation of the final scores for
the series; points will be recalculated omitting those competitors’ times.

5. The best five from nine events shall be used to calculate the score for the
series. If for any reason there are a different number of events the number to
count shall be: six from ten, five from eight, four from seven, four from six.

6. The competitor with the most points on a course will keep the perpetual
trophy for a year. Other awards will be made at the discretion of the Scorer and
SWOA and may vary from year to year. Trophies and awards can only be won by
competitors who have scored points in at least three events in the series.

A picture of the Galoppen trophies can be found here. Photo courtesy of Trevor Bridle

Previous Galoppen Leagues:

Galoppen League 2015/16 Overall Scores

Galoppen League 2014/15 Prize Winners

Galoppen League 2014/15 Overall Scores

Galoppen League 2013/14 Prize Winners

Galoppen League 2012/13 Prize Winners

Galoppen League 2012/13 Overall Scores

Galoppen League 2011/12 Prize Winners

Galoppen League 2010/11 Overall Scores

Galoppen League 2010/11 Prize Winners

Historical list of Trophy Holders


©SWOA 2017 - Photo courtesy of Mark Cheesman Designed by VEU Design